Hello, in this discussion we will be exploring the world of sushi and specifically looking at the types of sushi that are cooked. While sushi is traditionally known for being raw fish, there are variations that involve cooked ingredients. We will be taking a closer look at these cooked sushi options, exploring their flavor profiles and preparation methods.

The History of Sushi

Sushi is a Japanese dish that has been around for centuries. It has evolved over time, but the basic concept remains the same: combining vinegar rice with raw fish and other ingredients. Sushi was initially created as a way to preserve fish by packing it in rice, which would ferment and help preserve the fish. However, over time, sushi began to be consumed as an actual dish.

The Origins of Sushi

The origins of sushi can be traced back to Southeast Asia, where people would preserve fish by packing it in rice. It wasn’t until the 8th century that sushi made its way to Japan, where it evolved into the dish we know today.

The Evolution of Sushi

Sushi has evolved over time to include more ingredients, such as vegetables, cooked fish, and even fruits. Sushi chefs are always experimenting with new flavors and combinations to create unique and delicious dishes.

The Different Types of Sushi

There are various types of sushi, each with its unique flavor and texture. the most common types of sushi are:

A key takeaway from this text is that sushi originated as a way to preserve fish, but has evolved into a popular dish with various types and ingredients, including cooked options for those who prefer it. Nigiri, maki, temaki, uramaki, and narezushi are the most common types of sushi, while tamago, ebi, unagi, and inari are some examples of cooked sushi. Sushi chefs are always experimenting with new flavors and combinations to create unique and delicious dishes.


Nigiri is a type of sushi that consists of a small ball of rice topped with a slice of raw fish. The rice is usually seasoned with vinegar and sugar, giving it a slightly sweet taste.


Maki is a type of sushi that consists of rice and other ingredients rolled in seaweed. The roll is cut into bite-sized pieces and served with soy sauce and wasabi.


Temaki is a type of sushi that is often called a hand roll. It is made by wrapping a sheet of seaweed around rice and other ingredients, such as fish, vegetables, and sauces. It is then rolled into a cone shape and eaten with your hands.


Uramaki is a type of sushi that is also known as an inside-out roll. The rice is on the outside, and the seaweed is on the inside, with the ingredients in the middle. This type of sushi is often filled with avocado, cucumber, and crab meat.


Narezushi is a type of sushi that is fermented for several months, giving it a unique flavor and texture. It is made by packing fish in rice and leaving it to ferment for several months. Narezushi is not as popular as other types of sushi, but it is still enjoyed by some sushi enthusiasts.

Cooked Sushi

While sushi is often associated with raw fish, there are various types of cooked sushi that are just as delicious. Cooked sushi is an excellent option for those who are not comfortable eating raw fish or have dietary restrictions.


Tamago is a type of sushi that consists of a sweetened egg omelet. It is often served as a dessert or as an appetizer.


Ebi is a type of sushi that consists of cooked shrimp. It is often served with avocado and cucumber.


Unagi is a type of sushi that consists of grilled eel. It is often served with a sweet sauce that complements the smoky flavor of the eel.


Inari is a type of sushi that consists of seasoned tofu pockets filled with sushi rice. It is often served as a vegetarian option.

FAQs: What Kind of Sushi is Cooked

What types of sushi are typically cooked?

There are several types of sushi that are typically cooked, including tempura sushi, which is battered and deep-fried, and katsu sushi, which is breaded and fried. Another popular cooked sushi is ebi fry, which is a deep-fried prawn sushi roll. Some sushi chefs also cook ingredients such as egg, squid, or fish before adding them to sushi rolls.

Can raw fish be used in cooked sushi?

Yes, raw fish can be used in cooked sushi. For example, a spicy tuna roll is made with raw tuna that is mixed with spicy mayo and then cooked briefly on a griddle or in a pan. This gives the tuna a slightly seared flavor while still retaining its raw texture.

Is it safe to eat cooked sushi?

Yes, it is safe to eat cooked sushi. In fact, many people prefer cooked sushi because they are hesitant to eat raw fish. As long as the sushi is prepared properly and cooked to the appropriate temperature, it should be safe to eat.

How can I tell if the sushi is cooked?

Cooked sushi is typically served warm, and the type of cookery used may create visually discernible clues. For example, tempura sushi is usually coated in a crispy batter and may appear golden brown, while grilled sushi will sometimes appear with char marks on the surface. Additionally, though not an infallible rule, cooked sushi may be less delicate than raw sushi, with less emphasis on precision in the presentation.

Can vegetarian sushi be cooked?

Yes, vegetarian sushi can be cooked. In fact, some vegetarian sushi rolls like inari sushi are typically served cooked. Inari sushi is made by stuffing seasoned sushi rice into a pouch made from fried tofu, which is then simmered in a sweet and savory broth>. Other vegetarian sushi rolls can also be cooked, depending on the ingredients used.